Netflix’s war against shared accounts is being complicated for the platform and also for users who attend with bewilderment to problems and misinformation about the steps to follow. The company’s strategy is turning against it like a boomerang and to the farewell messages of those who are not going to maintain the subscription, now add the complaints because the system to establish the main location is failing.
A user has made a query to the platform through Twitter explaining that “he lives in Barcelona and that after configuring the main location the system identifies that it is ‘near Villalbilla de Burgos, in the province of Burgos'”. AND asks, wryly, if it is necessary to move to continue watching Netflix. As a result of that tweet, many other users have explained that the same thing has happened to them and that being in Murcia places them in Ciudad Real, which instead of Toledo places them in Tarragona or that instead of Madrid it places them in Barcelona. The combinations are multiple and some have even taken it jokingly saying that Netflix accounts or even homes will have to be exchanged.
The complaints coincide with the end of the period to associate a primary address to the account thus preventing the service from being shared with people who do not live in the same house. But users wonder what will happen if the primary location has not been registered correctly. It is true that next to the location, as you can see in the image, it is indicated that “it may not be exact”. The point is that we are talking about different provinces and distances of hundreds of kilometers.

Still, the platform Nor has it clarified what will happen to the accounts that have not established the main address or with whom, despite the warnings, they continue to share the accounts as they have been up to now. “The Netflix account is for people who live in the same house. Everyone who lives in the primary location will be able to watch Netflix when they are away from home or traveling. If this account is yours, we help you set up your primary location “, is the message that until now appeared when opening the Netflix application, but at no time is it confirmed if the company is going to proceed to block accounts, although it is most likely. For now, we will have to wait for the next move by Netflix.